annaagents.blogg.se

Howie carr radio network
Howie carr radio network









WW: How did you get involved with writing and talking about politics? I went back to the Herald when Rupert bought it and I’ve been there ever since. After that, I worked at Channel 7 ( the old WNEV-TV) when it was owned by David Mugar.

howie carr radio network

That’s how I got into journalism.Īfter college, I got a job at the Winston Herald Journal, then I moved back to Boston and worked at the old Herald American. Then when I got to college, the University of North Carolina, I started writing for the daily Tar Heel. Pretty soon the Greenfield Recorder was taking columns out of my paper, and I was stringing for the Boston papers, writing the local high school football game stories. I’ve always read a lot of newspapers, so I went to work for the Deerfield Scroll, the school newspaper. I wasn’t a good athlete, but I looked around to see if there was stuff I could do. Howie Carr: I was a student at Deerfield Academy and they said you had to have extra-curriculars to get into a good college. WellesleyWeston Magazine: What would you consider to be the defining experiences that led you to where you are today? The Carrs have three daughters: Carolyn, 12 Charlotte, 11 and Christina, 9. He serves a guest coffee on the terrace overlooking his swimming pool, then reaches down to lift one of his black pug puppies into his lap while he talks.Ĭarr moved to Wellesley in 1993 when he married Kathy Stimpson, a Wellesley realtor and native of Weston. Since February, Carr has gained national recognition with the publication of his book, The Brothers Bulger: How They Terrorized and Corrupted Boston for a Quarter Century, which spent five weeks on The New York Times best-seller list.Īt home, surrounded by family portraits, Carr’s persona is gentler. In his Boston Herald column and on his WRKO drive-time show, he lambastes politicians, mobsters, and any newsmakers of the day whose antics he finds amusing, reprehensible, absurd, or peculiar. Wellesley resident Howie Carr is a familiar voice to talk radio listeners in the Boston area.

howie carr radio network

Wellesley’s own shock jock reveals his kinder, gentler side











Howie carr radio network